Somersall v Scottish & York

Hi Graham,

I have very little knowledge regarding auto insurance, but what would have happened if the non-responsible injured driver hadn't gotten into a limits agreement with the under-insured motorist? I am trying to understand how that detail makes this 'routine' situation such a big deal.

Thanks!

Comments

• The injured party and the at-fault driver probably entered into this "limits agreement" as a way to expedite settlement. The problem is that this agreement has implications for the subrogation rights of the injured party's insurer. Here's what's going on:

• If your insurer compensates you for injuries that were the fault of the other driver, then your insurer will try to get reimbursed by the at-fault driver.
    • If the at-fault driver has sufficient insurance, their insurer would pay your insurer.
    • If the at-fault driver doesn't have sufficient insurance, the at-fault driver could be sued by your insurer.

If there had not been a "limits agreement", that would have been the end of it. The at-fault driver would have been sued and would have had to reimburse your insurer for whatever your insurer paid you under SEF 44.

But the "limits agreement", which meant that you could not sue the at-fault driver, also extends to your insurer. That means your insurer would not be able to recover any funds they paid to you and that made them mad! They tried to argue in court that since they couldn't recover from the at-fault driver, then you weren't entitled to any further compensation under SEF 44. But the courts (eventually) said, "Sorry, but the injured party's insurer has to pay because SEF 44 was indeed in effect at the time of the accident." So SEF 44 and the "limits agreement" are 2 separate things and don't affect each other.

• Hi Graham,