Missing the 7th case - Change in Incurred Value of a Large Loss

It seemed that you missed the 7th case and skipped to the 8th case - change in industry benchmark.

Comments

• That case was added in Fall 2017 to the updated version of the subsequent events reading and I actually just forgot to include it. But now that I think about it, it might be a better exercise to read it on your own and summarize it the way I've done with the others. (I'm a lazy instructor!)

• May I know if this correctly summarizes the 7th case?

Facts:
    • event: mid-Jan
    • actuary became aware: Feb 5th
    • subsequent event? yes, actuary became aware after CalcDt (12/31) & before RptDt (after Feb 5th)

Branch: middle

Action: EWDP - inform only
    • Error? No, go to next question
    • When? after the calculation date of December 31, go to the next question
    • Different? the entity is different after the calculation date, go to the next question
    • Purpose? report on entity as it was-->Final decision: inform only

• I think you're correct right up until your final decision. The example in the text presents 2 possible conclusions:

• If the IBNR is sufficient to absorb the change then this would be considered a normal part of business and it is not even necessary to disclose the change in value of the large loss.
    • But if the IBNR is not sufficient, then the change should be disclosed.

As you said, the answer to the "Purpose" question would be "report on entity as it was". Normally you would disclose (same as inform) but if it's part of normal business, you would not even have to inform. (In general, there are probably lots of little things like this that are part of normal business, and it isn't necessary to put every little thing into the report.)

I'm going to link to your post from the wiki so others can compare their answers. Thanks for posting this!

• edited September 2021