Spring 2015 Q19

Hi,

I studied all the content from the wiki and to be honest I was like OMG when I saw that problem. Should most of these formulas come intuitively? I am also unfamiliar with the different pages (20.10,20.20,...)

Please help.

Thanks,

Comments

• edited July 2019

This was a ridiculously hard problem. Even with the examiner's report, that problem takes a while to figure out and I suspect it had a very low average score across the candidates who sat for that exam. In my judgment, that problem is an outlier and that's why I didn't specifically talk about it in the wiki or elsewhere.

One thing you had to know was that the UCAE from page 20.20 was a gross value. If you didn't, you were pretty much out of luck even if you understood all the MfAD material really well. There were also a few other reasons I didn't think this was a well constructed problem. Anyway, here's a link to my Excel solution. It isn't as neat and tidy as I would normally do because I wasn't planning to share it, but since you specifically asked...

Tips on doing hard problems:

• If you get a problem where you aren't sure what to do, start by writing down any formulas that seem relevant. You would get credit for that. Then start doing calculations that use the given data. You never know where it's going to lead.
    • Once you get started, you may then see things more clearly but if not, you would at least get partial credit.
    • And pay attention to the point-value, 3.0 in this case. You generally have 240mins/70pts = 3.5 minutes per point. That means a little over 10 minutes, BUT calculation problems takes longer (sometimes twice as long) as an essay question worth the same number of points. So you could reasonably allow 20 minutes for a problem like this.